The pdf attached is a Brand Eye – it’s a way of piecing together and visualising the various qualities and values that your magazine has.

At the heart is the CORE PROPOSITION which is a simple statement of what your magazine stands for.
For GamesMaster this was simply “We love games”.
The BRAND PERSONALITY was ‘Passionate’ ‘Funny’ ‘Value for money’ ‘Entertaining’ ‘Friendly’
The TARGET READERS were ‘Game Fans’ ‘New owners’ ‘Multi-format owners’
SAYS ABOUT YOU referred to the reader – what does reading that mag suggest: ‘I need to know more’ ‘I want value for money’, ‘I don’t wrong to buy the wrong thing’.
MAKES YOU FEEL – again this is from the readers point of view ‘part of club’, ‘excited about games’, ‘clued-up’,
WHAT YOU PERCEIVE – what the reader believes is right about the mag: ‘unbiased opinion’, ‘contains the right games’, ‘Reviews I can trust’
BENEFITS TO YOU – ‘know more than my mates’, ‘experience games I don’t own’, ‘save money by buying the best games’.

It’s an interesting exercise for students to complete this to really think about what the brand of the magazine stands for and just why consumers should spend money on it.

 

Leave a comment